LiveSmart: SPHP, Excelsior College and Times Union offer “Salute to Nurses”

On Friday, May 11, 2018, St. Peter’s Health Partners, Excelsior College and the Times Union honored Capital Region nurses as being shining examples of the profession at the 2018 Salute to Nurses Luncheon.

Three St. Peter’s Health Partners nurses were honored for nursing excellence at the event:

Valerie Rivituso, BSN, RN, CNE, CEN, CCRN, Regulatory and Accreditation Coordinator, Acute Care Albany, SPHP, was named “2018 Nurse of the Year.”

Kelli Foley, RN, Case Management, Community Hospice of Saratoga, and Amy Froehlich, BSN, RN, St. Peter’s Hospital Emergency Department, were honored as “2018 Nurse of the Year Finalists.”

Congratulations to Valerie Rivituso for being named a "Nurse of the Year," and to Kelli Foley and Amy Froehlich for being Nurse of the Year Finalists, as part of the 2018 Times Union Salute to Nurses.

Left to right: Amy Froehlich, Kelli Foley, and Valerie Rivituso.

Other individuals named as “Nurse of the Year” included: Kathleen Buono, Russell Sage College, Assistant Professor of Nursing; Susan Casler, Albany Stratton VA, Palliative Care/Nurse Practitioner; Jennifer Cleveland, Glens Falls Hospital; Marion Enright, Nathan Littauer, Recovery Room; Herma Lee, Albany Medical Center, Apheresis; Janice Middleton, Harrison Avenue Elementary School Nurse; Susan Ninan, St. Mary’s Hospital, ACT Team Leader; Laura O’Mara, Saratoga Hospital, Geriatric Clinical Advisor; and Joseph Puglesi, St. Mary’s Healthcare, Amsterdam, Medical/Oncology/RN.

Other individuals named as “Nurse of the Year” finalists included: Crysten Anslow, Aim Services, Saratoga Springs; Brittany Collins, Catskill Academy, Nurse; Cindy Conley, RN, Albany Medical Center, Oncology; Deborah Hunter, RN, The Center for Rheumatology, Clinical Director; Nancy Jones, Albany Medical Center, The Children’s Hospital, Pediatrics Section of Endocrinology; Bethann Kowalski, St. Mary’s Healthcare, Breast Heath Navigator; Joanne Larkin, RN, CapitalCare Medical Group-Charlton Office; Mary Littleton, LaSalle School, Residential Treatment – Infirmary Staff; Barbara Mahar, RN, OCN, Women’s Cancer Care Associates, Oncology; Kevin Scavone, Saratoga Hospital, ICCU/Clinical Coordinator; Meagan Sweet, RN, St. Mary’s Addiction Services, Amsterdam; and Emily Wright, MS-MBA, BSN, CMSRN, Malta Medical Emergent Care, MMEC Site Director.

If you’d like to nominate a nurse for next year’s Salute to Nurses awards, visit

Print Friendly, PDF & Email